top of page

Jailer - a song

"When she sings, she's also touching people"


Jailer

Am in chains you’re in chains too I wear uniforms, you wear uniforms too I'm a prisoner, you’re a prisoner too Mr Jailer I have fears you have fear too I will die, you sef go die too Life is beautiful don’t you think so too Mr Jailer Am talking to you jailer Stop calling me a prisoner Let he who is without sin be the first to cast the stone Mr Jailer You suppress all my strategy You oppress every part of me What you don’t know, you’re a victim too Mr Jailer You don’t care about my point of view If I die another will work for you So you threat me like a modern slave Mr Jailer You don’t care about my point of view If I die another will work for you So you threat me like a modern slave Mr Jailer If you walking in a market place Don’t throw stones Even if you do you just might hit One of your own Life is not about your policies All the time So you better rearrange your Philosophies and be good to your fellow man jailer I hear my baby say I wan be president I wan chop money From my government What he don’t know Be say Mr Jailer

Songwriters: Bukola Elemide / Cobhams Emmanuel Asuquo

 

Jordan Scheffer is an extraordinary young woman with an incredible voice. She learned to play piano before she was 4-years-old, but it's her voice that's now gaining her national attention in the USA after winning the Blind Idol singing competition.

Jordan's voice is only one of the things that makes her so incredibly unique. Blind since birth, her senses are especially suited for singing. "I have synesthesia," she said. "It's like an overlap of two senses. When I hear music or a voice or a word, I might smell something or feel a certain thing. When I hear the word 'happy,' it's like I sense light. Jordan also has perfect pitch, which refers to the ability to detect and recreate musical notes simply by hearing them.

Jordan has been blind her whole life, and says she wouldn't want it any other way. "My blindness has let me see things in the world I might not be able to if I'm sighted," she said. "I don't judge on race, what people are wearing, whether they're tall or short. I get to know people for their personalities first. Really, I have no choice." "When she sings, she's also touching people," said her mother. I think we'd all agree with her!

extract from ashville, N.C -wlos-

SEARCH BY TAGS
ARCHIVE
bottom of page